Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Trying to use database class with functions
  • This is my first attempt at using the database class. I'm able to do simple queries, but is it possible to use MySQL functions in the query? For example, something like the following. Note concat() and rand() functions. $result = DB::select(
    'client_id',
    'company',
    CONCAT('folder', hp_thumbnail) as thumbnail_path,
    )
    ->from("clients")
    ->where('client_display', '=', 1)
    ->order_by(rand())
    ->execute(); Thanks,
    Mitchell
  • Also can't get the WHERE condition to work with IS NOT NULL. Tried: $result = DB::select(
    'testimonial'
    )
    ->from("clients")
    ->where('testimonial', '', 'IS NOT NULL')
    ->execute(); Also tried:
    ->where('testimonial', 'IS NOT NULL', '')
    and
    ->where('testimonial', 'IS NOT NULL')
    and
    ->where('testimonial IS NOT NULL')
  • I managed to figure out how to select database items using MySQL functions. You need to use DB::expr so that no extra quotes or escaping is performed. See CONCAT and RAND below. I still can't figure out how to use a WHERE clause such as "WHERE testimonial IS NOT NULL". I've tried the following: ->where(DB::expr('testimonial IS NOT NULL'))
    ->where(DB::expr('testimonial IS NOT NULL'), '')
    ->where(DB::expr('testimonial IS NOT NULL'), '', '')
    ->where(DB::expr('testimonial IS NOT NULL'), null)
    ->where(DB::expr('testimonial IS NOT NULL'), null, null) I've tried to find documentation on using the WHERE clause but only found examples in the Database Usage section of the docs. $result = DB::select(
    'client_id',
    'company',
    DB::expr("CONCAT('$image_folder', hp_thumbnail) AS thumbnail")
    )
    ->from("clients"wink
    ->where('client_display', '=', 1)
    ->order_by(DB::expr('RAND()'))
    ->execute();