Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Modules + ORM
  • So I'm working on a project that seems to have gotten a bit big with lots of sections and I'm thinking i should use Modules to organize it better. I have never used it before so it will be a good learning experience. I just need some help understanding it and how it will work with the ORM, also any advice on file structure to keep from repeating code. Modules With modules I'm not sue how best to access the ORM Models, for example if I create a music module it needs Model_Music, Model_List, Model_Tag to create the results, but if 'Model_Tag' is in a separate module, would it be able to access it? and how if it has a relationship.
    File structure There are listings: Music, Movies, Shows. (http://domain.com/music/view/1)
    It supports Tags for each listing. (http://domain.com/tag/view/rock) So far that's easy, but features like 'likes' and 'recommendations' confuse me, as in I could have 'likes' in each listing's controller. Example (http://domain.com/music/like/1) or in its own controller (http://domain.com/like/music/1). Also each listing has 'recommendations' which list similar listings with reviews and 'Likes' for each recommendation. So 'likes' can be for listings and recommendations. Music (Model_Music)[one-to-one Model_List]
    -- Recommendations (cross-reference by UNION)
    -- List (in this case all tracks and the song name) [one-to-many] Shows (Model_Shows)[one-to-one Model_List]
    -- Recommendations (cross-reference by UNION)
    -- List (in this case all episode names and number)[one-to-many]