Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Structure for admin modules
  • I'm really new to Fuel, coming from CI, so maybe this was asked before, but I couldn't find it. I have a modular app where the modules can have a frontend controller, but also the possibility for an admin controller.
    In CI I use HMVC, and some custom routes so that I can have this:
    modules/dashboard/controllers/dashboard_admin.php And then this controller is accessed through /admin/dashboard. Similar to the example from Phil Sturgeon in a blog post some time ago. I was able to achieve something like this in Fuel:
    modules/dashboard/classes/controller/admin.php But this would mean that all my admin controllers would be admin.php, and this just doesn't feel right, since I'm using a quick open function in my editor, and this way it's hard to find the admin controller I want, since all of them are called admin.php ;)
    The problem is with the underscores I guess, cause Fuel uses those for the folder structure. Does anyone have a best practice suggestion for something like this? How do you do it?
    I would appreciate any feedback. Thanks
  • I normally put admin sections, of any size, within a folder. /classes/controllers/blog.php
    /classes/controllers/admin/welcome.php (Dashboard)
    /classes/controllers/admin/blog.php So that would appear as
    /blog
    /admin
    /admin/blog You can, currently, only use one level of folders. See Controller in a subdirectory for more.
    http://fuelphp.com/docs/general/controllers/base.html
  • I think you didn't really understand my problem. I'm using modules so your example wouldn't work here. Thanks for the feedback anyway ;)
  • I do it this way: Routes:
    'admin'      => 'dashboard/admin/home',
    'admin/(:segment)/(:any)' => '$1/admin/$2',

Structure:
    modules/dashboard/classes/controller/admin/home.php // site_url/admin