Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
DRY method of defining model columns and using UUIDs instead of auto_increment IDs
  • Hi,

I've used cakePHP in the past and am exploring fuelPHP now. I'm still a noob so please excuse any dumb questions. I did a search on this but didn't find anything yet. 

Question 1: Is there a DRY way to define columns for models? 

I have status flags SOME of my tables in my database. Status of type tinyint(1) can hold a 1 or 0. I find myself defining status over and over again in my fuel model classes. I'm wondering if there is DRY way of handling this or if there is a design decision behind not handling this. 

My initial idea was to extend the Orm w/ my own custom MyOrm and define it in the _properties member where i can set the default to 1. 

Question 2: Can I use UUIDs for ID instead of autoincrement ID? 
    My database uses UUIDs (format like 5047b029-a7e0-4c57-83d4-493c77bd6c23) instead of auto-increment integers as IDs (like 1, 2, 3, etc). 

I have created my own MyOrm class which extends  Orm and overwritten the __construct method to do this:

public function __construct(array $data = array(), $new = true, $view = null)
    {
    // clipped
    if ($new)
    {
    $properties = $this->properties();
    foreach ($properties as $prop => $settings)
    {
    if (array_key_exists($prop, $data))
    {
    $this->_data[$prop] = $data[$prop];
    }
    elseif (array_key_exists('default', $settings))
    {
    $this->_data[$prop] = $settings['default'];
    }
    /* my code start */
    elseif ($prop === 'id') 
    {
    $this->_data['id'] = Utility::uuid();
    }
    /* my code end */
    }
    }
    // clipped
    }

Is there a better way to do this? 

Thanks
  • HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer