Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Create Table When Using 'oil generate model' Confusion
  • Hello,

I am totally new to FuelPHP, ORM and migrations in general so sorry if I come accross like a noob but I've been struggling with this for a few hours now so I thought I'd ask for help. I think I'm either doing something wrong or missing something fundamental.

I am trying to create a users model, for simplicity let's say it just has a string representing name.

I was under the impression that using the following two Oil commands would create a users model, and an associated migration which after running would build an associated table:

php oil generate model user name:string
    oil refine migrate

This does successfully create the model and migration, but running the second command doesn't build the table in the database.

If I run these commands on the other hand:

php oil generate migration create_user name:text
    oil refine migrate

The migration is created and the table is built in my database. I noticed that prepending 'create_' to the migration name made it possible to create the table, whereas leaving it off (i.e php oil generate migration user name:text) doesn't insert the table to the DB. I noticed the generated migrations with and without the 'create_' are significantly different.

So my question ultimately is, how do I create the model, associated migration which creates the table? Or, am I totally misunderstanding something? 

Thanks!

• If I do that here (using 1.5/develop at the moment), it generates:
    <?php

namespace Fuel\Migrations;

class Create_users
    {
            public function up()
            {
                    \DBUtil::create_table('users', array(
                            'id' => array('constraint' => 11, 'type' => 'int', 'auto_increment' => true),