Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Search Form
  • I'm really new to FuelPHP and trying to do a search form that will display results from my db.  I've found a couple of fragments here and there that give me clues about how to go about doing this but no single example that I can follow from start to finish.  

Doing a search on "search" doesn't provide very much.  

If anyone can point me to an example that allows me to determine, in baby steps, what to do, I would really appreciate it. 

I want to have a search form with an input and button which will then show me results from querying mysql db.  
  • That doesn't work any different in FuelPHP then in other frameworks, or in native PHP.

You'll need a form where a user can type in search criteria, optionally a parser (so you can have searches for "this" AND "that"), and then you need to run a DB query, that returns whatever you want to look for.

There is no set way of doing all this, it depends on your requirements, database design, columns you want to search on, and the type of search you want.
  • Your answer isn't all that helpful.  I could actually do this in regular old php with very little work.  Telling me that I need a form where a user can type in search criteria is blindingly obvious and the part about needing to run a db query is priceless.  

You replied to my question so I will accept that you have good intentions, but your answer itself is not helpful.  

• I know it is not very helpful, I was very clear about that.

If you say you can do it in "regular old PHP" easily, than you know exactly how to implement it. Which means the question is not "Search form", the question is "how do I build a simple FuelPHP application".