Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
simpleauth security questions
  • Hi everyone, I'm new to fuelPHP, but not to PHP and web development. I would like to know how secure is auth. I wrote my own driver based on simpleauth, but some things in simpleauth are not clear to me...
    For example remember me cookie contains user_id and no other info, and later if user_id is in cookie user will be logged in, doesn't that left leave oportunity to hacker to change cookie and log in as any user? Or is encryption secure enough in cookie to solve this?

Same thing is with standard login. Everything is written in session, and if driver for session is cookie username and loginhash is saved in cookie, which is ok, but if multiple_logins flag is true then it doesn't even checks for loginhash, doesn't that leave oportunity to hacker to change username and log in as any other valid user? 

I would like to know how this things works in background and do you consider encrypting cookie good enough for this, or did I realize something wrong?
  • HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer
    In short: very. It has been audited and tested by both a US and a Japanese security company.

The only issue found was a possibility for a time-based attack (a normal string compare varies slightly in processing time depending how many characters of the password are correct), which was then mitigated.

The remember-me feature is implemented using a custom session instance, so the cookie is protected the same way as the session is, including user-agent and IP checking (unless disabled in the config), and session id rotation.

Fuel's encryption uses AES, with an SHA256 hash. It uses random generated 128 bit key, IV and hmac values, unique per application.