Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Return a list of users except logged in user
  • Hi there,

I'm new to PHP frameworks and utilizing MVC models and have a question regarding the procedure for obtaining a list of users with the exception of the logged in user who is viewing aforementioned list.

I've created my current situation by following this tutorial. I created the 'users' scaffold following the structure of the command for administering 'posts' as shown in the tutorial. The command used was:

oil g admin users username:varchar[50] password:string group:int email:string last_login:int login_hash:string profile_fields:text

I've cleaned up the parts I didn't need for now such as viewing the password hash and profile field from the views. My question is for the view of _index where it displays the list of users. The list also displays the logged in user which is not what I want. I want to display the list of users with the exception of the logged in user.

This is what my action_index() in the Admin_Users controller looks like. My custom function in the model looks like this. The problem is when I visit the page, I get an error which says:

Undefined variable: current_user

APPPATH/classes/model/user.php @ line 44

And yes, I am logged in as an Admin when I view that page. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong and point me in the right direction?

Thanks for your time.
  • HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer
    In your custom method, $current_user is a local variable, but it's not set anywhere.

Assuming you're using the Auth package for auhtentication, you can use

\Auth::check()

to see if someone is logged in or not, and

\Auth::get('username')

to get the username of the current logged-in user.
  • I really appreciate your timely responses.