Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
about FuelPHP
  • hi every one,
    i am a joomla user! :) and for my last project i decide to use a framework, i created some modules and components for joomla, it is cool but joomla is not for real web application, so i taste some php frameworks, codeigniter, laravel, cakephp and fuelphp.

i really liked Codeigniter, it is fast and lean but have some limitations!, like auth. library, template and HMVC ( modules and widgets), yes there is some really good third-party libraries,

laravel and cakephp (specially ver. 3) are really nice, but i need some thing complete that let me do my job on my own way, with no huge learning cure,

CI is very good, and fuelphp is too, i read FuelPHP roadmap and page of team, cool, but how is it active?

i am new in php frameworks, i need tutorials and samples and active forum to ask questions, how is the fuelphp status?

what about future of fuelphp? laravel and other frameworks EATING developers :D , what has FUELPHP for developers over laravel?

MUST I DO :
    - going with CI ( i like it )
    - selecting other frameworks (i didn't like them ;) )
    - learning FuelPHP ( i think fuelphp is nice as CI )

thanks for your suggestions,
  • Is CI alive again then? It was as good as dead when we left the CI scene to start with FuelPHP back in 2010.

If you like to follow the latest hype, if you don't have a problem with selecting a new framework for every project, if you don't have to maintain applications for several years then yes, there is an abundance of frameworks to choose from.

If however your case if different, then just have a chat with people that developed on Laravel 3. And where they are now.

Fuel, like CI in a sense, doesn't run behind the latest fads. We prefer slow and gradual growth, easy upgrade paths that don't break your applications (and the bank!).