Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Call to a member function get_public_name() on a non-object
  • I apologize in advance for what should be a pretty simple issue. I am very new to fuel. I recently acquired an existing site created in fuel 1.0. I have been tasked with moving this site from its existing server to a new server. The issue I am facing now is when I try to load the page I get the call to a member function error. The error is coming from the index.php view. 
    [code]
    <div class="<? if(!$contractor->logo){ ?>span12<? } else { ?>span8<? } ?>">
                    <span id="contractor_recommended" class="alert alert-success">
                            <p>
                                <span style="font-size: .7em;">
                                    <?=\Config::get('site.service_name')?> is recommended by:<br />
                                </span>
                                <strong>
                                    <? if($contractor->website_url <> ""){ ?>
                                        <a href="<?=\Helper::format_web_address($contractor->website_url);?>" target="_blank">
                                    <? } ?>
                                    <?=$contractor->get_public_name();?>
                                    <? if($contractor->website_url <> ""){ ?>
                                        </a>
                                    <? } ?>
                                </strong>
                            </p>
                    </span>
                </div>
    [/code]

I know I am missing something, but I just can't seem to see what it is. I also know the site needs updated to current fuel release, but my client wants to get the site transferred and running before we begin that phase.

Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated.
  • Here is the model code: 

[code]
    namespace Contractor