Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
The correct place to authenticate
  • I'm pretty new to FuelPHP (always used Wordpress before) and just want to check if I'm doing my authentication in the correct place.

Doing a straight install (with an admin area set up) say I have a table for 'posts' and I want only logged in users to be able to create/edit/delete posts, should I add the following:

if ( Auth::check() ) { //logged in } else { //redirect user }

in the view to (as an example) hide the edit buttons, and then in the controller I assume I should run the same check (say in the edit/create class) just before:

if (Input::method() == 'POST')

in my action_create() code?

Or is this completely the wrong way to do it, in which case - where am I going wrong?

Sorry if this is basic FuelPHP 101 - having worked with Wordpress I've only ever needed to concern myself with how a site displays (or using ACF to add fields to the admin area), building the admin area itself is new to me and I want to make sure I get it right first off.

Any pointers would appreciated!

P.S. I'll be using Ormauth mainly if that makes a difference to the authentication method.
  • HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer
    Never put logic in a View. Views are only for markup of your output, so ideally they contain only HTML. If you need to use PHP, only use it for stuff like simple if's, or loops.

If you need pre-markup logic, for example to convert a database record to something you can display (for example by fetching related data), you do that in a Presenter.

Your control logic goes into the controller, and business logic goes into a Model.

Back to the question, we use base controllers, so you can do

class Authenticated extends Controller
    {
        public function before()
        {
            if ( ! Auth::check() ) { //redirect user }
        }

}

You can then use