Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Routing
  • Hey :)

i'm new to fuelphp and i want to realize the following routing:

Currently i'm implementing some kind of a cms in which you can create static pages and dynamic pages.
    Static pages for example: shipping-costs.html and dynamic pages like red-t-shirt.html

For this i've created a url_rewrite mysql table with the following structure

id|request_path|target_path

this table needs to be checked by the fuelphp router.

example for pages
    ----
    request_path e.g. shipping-costs.html -> url the user is calling
    target_path e.g. /pages/id/5 -> internal fuelPHP call, to get to the pages controller

example for products
    ----
    request_path e.g. red-t-shirt.html -> url the user is calling
    target_path e.g. /product/id/5 -> internal fuelPHP call, to get to the product controller

but i will also use de fuelphp default routing mechanism, if no URL was found in de url_rewrite table

Is there a way to achieve this in fuelPHP?

best regards

MrMelz

• What we do in our application framework is use a catch-all route, the last route defined in our route.php:

':any'    => 'webengine/loader'         // Catch-all

this redirects any requests not routed to our loader controller, which does something dynamic like you want to do. This however disables Fuel's default route -> controller mapping.

You can also reverse the process, and do

'_404_'   => 'webengine/loader',

this would call the loader controller if Fuel wasn't able to find a controller for the page requested.

This last option however means you have to be careful with controllers you don't want to be publicly available, so these need a before() method that throws an HttpNotFoundException() if the request is not an HMVC request (but a browser request).