Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
UpdatedAt Observer for custom fields?!?
  • Hi there, I'm new to FuelPHP and I'm impressed how powerful it is. Thanks to everyone involved!!
    My question is, can I use the UpdatedAt observer in a way that is only gonna be called when a specific field is updated??
    I explain, for example I have a table on mysql called 'currencies' (which has 'id', 'currency', 'exchange_rate' and 'exchange_rate_updated_at' fields). What I want to do is, everytime that 'exchange_rate' field is updated, to save UNIX timestamp on 'exchange_rate_updated_at' with the date when it has been updated.
    I'm not sure if I can use the UpdatedAt observer for this purpose (apparently this observer is gonna be called everytime a field is updated, and I want it to just be called when 'exchange_rate' is updated) or I have to write my own one. If so, please give me some examples or instructions because I don't have a clue how I could create an observer like this. Thanks for your time! and sorry for my english by the way..
    Cheers!
  • Welcome here j-one. No problem with your english. You are correct, the UpdatedAt observer will update the timestamp whenever something is changed in the object. Writing your own observer class, or using the ObserverSelf in combination with a method in the model itself, is the way to go. If you go for the observer class, know that the original data is not accessible from outside the object, so you might have to add a method is_rate_changed() to the model that will do the comparison.
  • Thanks for replying!
    It looks that the easiest way is to use ObserverSelf, rather than creating another observer..
    But I'm still a bit lost and can't find any example on the documentation..