Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Can FuelPHP 1.x be upgraded to FuelPHP 2.x?
  • Hello everyone, it's my first time here so thank you all for having me :)

I've read a lot about FuelPHP and have decided to use it in a project I'm doing. It seems to suit my needs and the needs of the project, and doesn't seem to difficult to get to grips with (which is always a bonus!).

However something on the homepage caught my eye, and its something that affects my project later on. It makes a reference to FuelPHP 2.x being released and a new LTS version of FuelPHP 1.x is to be released. Will it be possible for users of FuelPHP 1.x to upgrade to FuelPHP 2.x?

If it's not possible, would it be adviseable to develop applications now using the beta of FuelPHP 2.x and then upgrade to subsequent versions? Or, should I just stick with v1.x and it's LTS and redevelop the application in a year or two's time?

Many thanks,
    Michael
  • Michael, I'm no core developer but an enthusiastic developer for and with Fuel so I now bits and bytes about it.

Guessing from what I read about Fuel v2 on the forums, fuelphp.com and the IRC channel, Fuel v2 isn't close to being released in a beta version - at least not until some time this summer, if I recall correctly - there are still a bunch of things missing (like the awesome ORM - correct me if I'm wrong @Harro Verton) though the basic stuff (like controller, requests, responses) seems to implemented and running stable.

So I personally recommend using Fuel v1 for your project and then keep it stable and secure with the LTS while you're porting it to v2.
  • Your are correct.