Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
ViewModels
  • Hello. I am new to FuelPhp. I don`t understand what are ViewModels(I see the documentation).
  • Viewmodels are classes that encapsulate a view, and which sometimes is called a Presenter.

The idea is that you keep your views free of any logic, other then the logic needed to create the page (foreach and if structures), but also keep logic specific for the view out of the Controller.

For example, say you have a view that creates a page header. Besides the menu, it also has a login/logout option, and when a user is logged in, the name, group and login time info of that user.

In the traditional model you would do all this work in the Controller (or if you are very bad, in the view). With the Viewmodel, you would only pass the userid from the Controller to the Viewmodel (or null if no user is logged in). All logic needed to get username, group, time, and formattting of that happens in the Viewmodel, which is then passed on to the view, that only needs to echo it.

So it's a View abstraction layer.
  • In other php frameworks there are no such thing like Viewmodels as you said. But I cant get it. Please explain it more specific. I am very new to mvc patterns. I like the syntax of Fuelphp but some parts of documentation are puzzle for me. Give me some practical example.
  • HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer
    I think the docs explain it quite well: http://fuelphp.com/docs/general/viewmodels.html

If it makes it easier, try to imagine using a View parser like Smarty or Twig, where you don't have PHP in your views. This means you can not put any processing logic in your views.