Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Nested Many-to-many relationship
  • Hi there,

I'm a beginner at PHP and MVC frameworks. I have 'users' and 'books' in a many-to-many relationship. A 'user' can 'subscribe' to 'books' and one 'book' may be 'subscribed' to by many 'users'.

I have created the relationship by defining it in the separate models without creating an in-between model. Now I wish to use the values of the in-between model to relate them with 'highlights' and 'bookmarks'. So:

1) A 'user' may have 'highlights' and 'bookmarks' in a certain 'book'.
    2) A 'book' may have the same 'highlights' and/or 'bookmarks' for different 'users'. (Even if the chance is small, it is still there.

The database schema I'm aiming for is over here.

What is the recommended course of action?

Thanks for your time.
  • Then you'll need to split the many-to-many into two one-to-many's, and create a new model for the "through" table.

Note that you can use both relation types at the same time, so you can use the many-to-many to get all books of a user (or all users subscribed to a book), and the one-to-many, to access the columns in the through table.

Note also that ORM caches objects by key, so ever if you use both relations simultaneously, ORM will make sure you're looking at the same object in both resultsets.
  • I just need some more clarification, thanks for the help so far:

1. I have a 'book' and 'user' model for now. 'books_users' table exists in the database only. Interaction with this table exists on an abstract level with its details defined in both the 'user' and 'book' model.

2. From what I understand, if a many-to-many relationship exists with other attributes besides the foreign keys, a model has to be specifically defined.