Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Not Install inside the document root
  • Hi! I'm new in fuelphp, coming from CodeIgniter, I've started some tests on fuel. I've installed it and I'm working OK with fuel all in my local document root under /fueltest, but something is circling my head, the part of the installation guide that say "for security reasons it is strongly advised NOT to install Fuel inside your webserver's document root" Why is that? that's something I've never done with CI... That means that in production it should be installed as:
    /
      fuel/
        app/
        core/
        packages/
      public_html/
        public/
           .htaccess
           assets/
           index.php
           oil

or how?
  • Sorry to hijack an old topic, but I feel this has relevance to what has been said before. I too am struggling with the fact that I have to place the fuel directory outside of the public document.
    I will be running at least two installations of FUEL on my host.
    If I understand your docs correctly, this is how the situation will turn out to be:
    /
    |- app-1
    |- app-2
    |- FUEL-for-app-1
    |- FUEL-for-app-2

Everything app-1 & app-2 needs (including the view-files) will be written in FUEL-for-app-x
    The folder app-x is only used to have a single point of entry (index.php) and some assets... Do I understand this correctly? --
    Thanks,
    Jeroen
  • Guido R wrote on Saturday 7th of May 2011:
    Thanks, I've got it now! But isn't this something that can be mitigated with an .htaccess file and "Deny from all" and then on every php file, the first line something like:
    <?php  if ( ! defined('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed');

as CI does? which is a better practice? because I think some hostings doesn't execute the php files outside the document root