Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Folder structure for multiple apps
  • This is just a suggestion for discussing here in the forums. I don't know if the FUEL team already discussed between them, but since this is a community driven framework I'll just drop some ideas here. I'm really new to FUEL, I've been doing my developments with CI2.0 and I like it very much though it has some limitations which, to my opinion and what I've read about FUEL, are more or less 'fixed' with FUEL, so I wanted to give it a try. I like the folder structure very much as it makes a really good separation between what's supposed to be public and what's not. Kudos for that! IT's also much clearer from what CI has getting rid of helpers and other things that just doesn't add any real value and just complicates the understanding of the framework. I recently ran into a problem getting FUEL to run in a Zend Server (which I didn't solve by the way http://fuelphp.com/forums/topics/view/236) which led me to install it on an xampp distro. That got me into thinking about Hosting services (yes, I don't quite see the connection but my mind works in mysterious ways hehe) and what I found is that FUEL is perfect for having multiple applications using the same "core", thus avoiding multiple copies of the framework. This, at the moment, is not done just right away, some minor changes must be made and that's what this post is all about (I know, a bit of a long introduction but it's for clarity's sake). Right know the folder structure looks like this:
    - /
      |- fuel
      |- public