Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Help designing relating models
  • Hello. I'm new to ORM and can use some help designing my database for it. 

Right now, I am building a site where users can create lists and add items to them. Other users can also read and write to these lists. Originally when reading through the docs, I was thinking of setting up the database with the following tables (I'll list the relavant fields with them):

users: (id), users_lists: (user id, list id), lists: (id). 

With this set up, I was thinking I can just use the many_has_many relations to achieve gathering lists that the user owns or subscribes to. However, I need to introduce at least one other table, which would be to hold the list items. The items are also categorized, so I may even make separate tables per type of item. 

Doing some further reading, the docs said if you are planning on going many relations deep, you should use nested relationships. 

My question is, if I use nested relationships, will I be able obtain, lets say, an array of the lists users have, and the lists users have, with all their items AND if I use the nested relationship method, do I need the in-between tables to make it work (users_lists, lists_items, etc).  

Also, as a side note, when making those in-between tables, are they models? Or can I just make them with sql?  
  • HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer
    Ideally, you would use migrations to maintain your database schema. It forces you to work in a structured way, and also allows you to easily recreate your database (on the same or another server). In your migrations you use DBUtil calls.

As to ORM: if you use a many_many relation and your relationship (or junction or through) table does not contain any other properties, you don't need to create a model for it. On the many_many relation just define the through table that contains both foreign keys.