Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Oil migrate spitting out driver error
  • Hi there, I'm fairly new to PHP programming (IT worker that's been requested to become a basic programmer.) and found Fuelphp through a couple contacts who say it's really good for the first time user.

I've managed to install everything fine and get almost everything running. Apart from when I try to migrate using OIL. The error that I get is:

Error - could not find driver in COREPATH/classes/database/pdo/connection.php on line 94

I'm running LinuxMint 14 and running this through the default linux terminal. 

I've read around about other errors of this nature but they usually talk about invalid data source, not Drivers. I've made sure that everything is setup correctly, my database connection is working fine (I think, credentials are all perfect.) 

http://pastebin.com/dnqUzhmk This is my /pdo/connection.php

I'm really stumped, but really want to give this framework a good go before I write it off at the first hurdle.
  • What happens a lot is that the php-cli binary uses a different php.ini than the sapi version running in your webserver. Which causes the PDO driver not to be available when on the commandline.

You can easy check this by starting the oil console ('php oil console'), and type:

class_exists('PDO');

If it responds with 'false', you have this issue.

It could also be an environment issue. If you're not working in 'development', which is the default, you will have to tell oil which environment to load, using

env FUEL_ENV=yourenvironmentname php oil <your command>

You can check which environment oil is using via

php oil -v

• Thanks for getting back to me so fast. I was unable to check over the weekend but I'm back in the office now and have just ran both Class_exists and oil -v. 

Oil -v shows that I'm currently working in the development environment.