Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Changing the name of the public folder
  • Apologies, but i'm a complete newbie to fuel PHP. Ive developed my application locally using MAMP as the environment with FuelPHP. Now other people are starting to become involved in the project so i'm trying to upload it somewhere for the rest of the team to review.

I created the site in a subfolder of my root directory directory (htdocs) on MAMP, so the path to the public folder is currently:

/Applications/MAMP/htdocs/mediatemple-test/public/

I'm trying to initially get it working on our Mediatemple grid-serve, however i noticed that the root folder on Mediatemple is called "html". From reading other posts on here I understood that i should be able to just rename the "public" folder to "html", however when i do this locally i get the following error:

Warning: require(/bootstrap.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/mediatemple-test/public/index.php on line 44

Fatal error: require(): Failed opening required '/bootstrap.php' (include_path='.:/Applications/MAMP/bin/php/php5.4.4/lib/php') in /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/mediatemple-test/public/index.php on line 44

Do i need to change anything else or do i need to add a .htaccess file? If so what do I need ot put in there?

Also does anybody have any learnings from deploying FuelPHP to Mediatemple gridserve.

• HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer
    The FuelPHP architecture is designed so that no files are accessible from the browser, except your assets. This is where the /public folder in the distribution comes in, as you need a mount point for your webservers DocumentRoot.

If you don't use this, but install the entire framework INSIDE the DocumentRoot, then you don't need the public folder, it serves no purpose anymore.