Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Setup question about URL Rewrite rules and Security
  • Hello All,

I'm new to FuelPHP and I hope I'm putting this in the right place. If I get a little wordy I apologize in advance.

So I'm trying to ensure security for the initial setup of my FuelPHP projects and am still getting use to the rewrite setup. I couldn't find a very straight forward configuration other then what was mentioned in the installation document for my setup, so I thought I'd ask you guys.

I'm using Ubuntu 12.10, php 5.4.6, oil 1.6, apache 2.2.22

I have my Fuel projects separated from my /var/www root in a /srv/fuel/myproject location. After I perform all of my oil commands, I then recursively chown ../myproject to www-data:www-data (this is also so I can access it using AjaXplorer (v.5.0.2) to easily write code via http when I'm not at home and can't ssh into my server).

I have a site configured in Apache that's enabled and has the following rewrite (didn't setup a .htaccess file):

Alias /sandbox/myproject /srv/fuel/myproject/public

<Directory /srv/fuel/myproject/public>
              RewriteEngine on

RewriteBase /

RewriteRule ^(/)?$ /sandbox/myproject/index.php/$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
              RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d

RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /sandbox/myproject/index.php/$1 [L]
            </Directory>

This gives me access to the project at http://www.myserver.com/sandbox/myproject (took me a little to figure out that the RewriteRule setting was based on the html path)

Am I doing this right or should I be changing this to be more secure and/or more accessible to FuelPHP itself? I'm trying to get the setup part well understood so I can focus on development moving forward.

Thank you for your direction and help.