Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Video tutorial on building applications with FuelPHP
  • Hello everyone,

I would like to gently suggest or point out that FuelPHP lacks of a tutorials for starters, especially for absolute beginners. I tried to find something like "getting started ..." and I found it really hard. I came across this tutorial regarding MVC 4 on ASP.NET:

The presenter explains, right from the beginning, every single details regarding MVC on ASP.NET. I hate to say that but after watching just two modules (the web side is currently not working), I could say I feel confident, or ready to design my simple application with my own controllers and actions, assign views to actions, and begin with models. I am afraid I hardly can say it about FuelPHP after spending some time with Documentation and tutorials trying to look for anything related to beginners--there is one but heavily criticised tutorial which somehow appears at the top of all google results which I tried to follow and failed. I would love to see something similar for FuelPHP. This would just brought plenty of new users :)--I'd do it by myself. I understand the aforementioned video tutorial is commercial with one purpose to sell it but it's really does fulfil its purpose. I am sure something similar can be made for FuelPHP.

My story is that I came to FuelPHP forum due to two reasons, (1) I am a home(ish) programmer and I think I can say I passionate programming with OOP applications, and (2) I find MVC such a great framework for designing web applications. Sometimes I use my skills at work to improve my and my colleagues' life :) Recently, I have been asked to design a database driven web application. I found FuelPHP because I am looking for a MVC framework for PHP/MySQL to apply.