Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Regarding insert into many-to-many through-table
  • Hi there,

I'm a beginner at PHP and MVC frameworks. I have two models, 'users' and 'books'. It is a many-to-many relationship and I have a through-table 'books_users'. I wish to create a function in the model (I'm guessing it would be the 'users' model) to allow users to 'subscribe' to books. I've read this and this.

Can someone explain the following (taken from the latter link) lines to me, especially the part about the numbers used:

// both main and related object already exist
    $user = Model_User::find(8);
    $user->posts[1] = Model_Post::find(1);
    $user->save();

I've come up with this:

Model_User::find(2)->books[2] = Model_Book::find(2)

But upon printing the array in 'oil' console, I don't find any details about the 'user'. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your time.
  • $user = Model_User::find(8);  //means find user with primary key 8. 
    // to access users and books go to your user model and add the following to define the relationship
    protected static $_has_many = array('books' => array(
        'model_to' => 'Model_Book',
        'key_from' => 'id', //primary key in user table    'key_to' => 'user_id', //referenced key in books table    'cascade_save' => FALSE,    'cascade_delete' => TRUE,    // there are some more options for specific relation types),);

//to be able to access records lets say user with primary key 2

$user = Model_User::find(2); 
    echo $user->id; //will bring out user id;
    //to access books user has
    $books=$user->books; //will give you a handle on the books 
    i hope this was helpful

• I'm sorry if I wasn't clear. I already know how to get the 'books' for a certain 'user'. What I would like to know is how I can add a 'book' to a certain 'user'.

And also, what the following, means: