Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Ajax FuelPHP
  • Hi fellows, fuelphp it's great but i've looking from everywhere and all i founded it indicates to me, fuelphp does not integrates ajax, like ruby on rails does, it has to be performed "manually" with jquery, which is really disappointing, please if i'm wrong help me with a tutorial or something, i'm a fuelphp newbie, i don't wanna looks like a stupid, i just wanna be clear about this topic.
  • ?

Fuel is a backend PHP framework, it's not a frontend framework. If you need a frontend framework, pick one, there are plenty. Fuel doesn't want to restrict frontend designers, Fuel is about choice.
  • come on... fron-end frameworks?, just say, no, fuel does not integrates ajax by itself although it should.
  • That is your personal opinion.

We disagree, we stongly believe a backend application framework should NOT force the developer to use a predefined frontend, the developer should be free in her/his choice.

And it is not restricted to just the Ajax call. If you force an Ajax call method upon your developers, you also have to force a way to process the result of the call upon them. Which means you have to force the use of a frontend template engine to be able to reload table data, and so on...

You used Rails as a very good example: with Rails you don't have a choice, you use Rails. Period. And if you need to do something Rails doesn't offer out of the box, you still have to hack you jquery in.

So choose your frontend, or choose something more low-level like JQuery, write a wrapper class that generates your frontend code, and you're done.

We have client applications that use Twig as a template engine, and use Kendo as UI framework. Kendo requires specific method calls which fetch ajax data and fill a datatable in one go, like:

$("#grid").kendoGrid({
      dataSource: {
          type: "odata",