Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Creating a user registration form
  • Hi, I'm relatively new to FuelPHP; having worked with Wordpress for some considerable years I've got to the point where I need to break away from the restrictions it imposes on what I can do with it.

I've been working through the 'FuelPHP Application Development Blueprints' book and am getting a good grasp of how to use FuelPHP and I'm really pleased with how flexible and powerful it is. However, there is one area where I'm really, really stuck on - its probably quite simple but no matter how much I've read the documentation and experimented I just can't fathom it out.

I've followed the documentation and have been able to initially create a user with a command in the Oil console (I'm using the 'Ormauth' driver) with Auth::create_user. I also have the login form when I go to /admin (or /admin/logout).

I understand that the registration example in the documentation is meant to be just that (an example) but I'm struggling to work out how to create a registration form which will 'talk' to the registration code, validate the fields and add the user.

Users will only be added by a super administrator (no other user can register) so the form needs the users chosen username, full name. email address and group.

Could someone point me in the direction (or provide an example) of how I would do this? I'm very much a visual learner so seeing a piece of code enables me to work out what's happening (as I've done with the book) would help me understand it better.

Any advice would be most appreciated. :)
  • The Auth example code in the docs are a direct copy from the application framework we use as the basis of our applications.