Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Item confirmation application
  • Hi, there. I'm new to FuelPHP and PHP in general. I understand the basic structure of how FuelPHP works, but I have a hard time figuring out the specifics on how database handling works between the model and the controller. In my database, I have an item category number. If wanted to have a search bar when you enter a category number, it populates a drop down menu for the number entered, how would I do that? 

Model:
    class Item extends \Model {
    public static function select_one_item()
    {

$itemQuery     = "";      
    $arryResult     = "";
    $itemId = "";

$itemQuery = "some SQL commands";

$arryResult = \DB::query($itemQuery)->execute();

if(count($arryResult) >0 ){
                foreach($arryResult as $item)
                {

$itemId= $item['item_id'];   
                }
            }
            return $itemId;

}
    }

Controller:

use \Model\Item;

class Controller_Item extends Controller_Search
    {
       ?????
    }

I'm currently being outsourced working on this project for a company. I've been learning on the job, but it has been quite tough. The application I'm working on is a smaller part of a bigger application. Another app that was developed for the larger application used FuelPHP but the person who made it is no longer with the company. Up until now I have been looking at their code for guidance and trying to figure out FuelPHP works using it and the official documents. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
  • HarroHarro
    Accepted Answer
    There are basically four ways to constuct models, and which one depends on your architecture choices.

1) Use direct DB calls

Which is what your example is using. In this case, a model is a class like all others, you have defined a static method "select_one_item" without arguments, so you call it like so: